Wednesday in Seattle started with a run around Conor and Cheryl’s neighbourhood in Woodinville. The houses are beautiful, the greenery is amazing, and there are a lot of fantastic and gigantic houses, so I did a lot of stopping to take pictures.

Giant houses hiding behind beautiful greenery. This is just Woodinville.

Giant houses hiding behind beautiful greenery. This is just Woodinville.

That worked in my favour because the terrain was so hilly that I needed all of the breaks. I am really trying to keep up with my marathon training so that I can make an attempt at qualifying for the Boston Marathon when I run the Santa Clarita Marathon in November, but it is hard. Plus, I’m not a runner. I am just someone who tries to run and then tells everyone about it. I have to make sure that as many people as possible feel almost as tortured as I do when it comes to my jogging habits.

Oh, just me getting lost on my run. And apparently going in circles.

Oh, just me getting lost on my run. And apparently going in circles.

I got completely lost during the run, as evidenced by the trail I made on my MapMyRun tracker. I really thought I was getting somewhere, but I was not at all. I knew I had taken a couple of wrong turns and doubled back at some of the forks in the path, but I thought I had gone a lot further than I actually did. Story of my life.

While I was in what I thought was the depths of the woods – clearly not – I also remembered the warning from the Glasseys that there might actually be bears wandering around. I ran a little faster after that.

Once I figured out where I was and how to get back to the house, I stopped several times on the way home to take numerous pictures of the beautiful houses in the area. They were crazy huge and surrounded by awesome landscaping, so why not?

Huge house. Duh.

Huge house. Duh.

After I showered, all six of us – Conor and Cheryl, Nathan and Aly Rode, and my mom – headed downtown. We were all going to park near Safeco Field so that it would be easy to get out at the end of the night after the Seattle Mariners hosted the Toronto Blue Jays for the final game of the three-game series.

I accidentally followed the running path (or not) right into someone's backyard. It's nice though, right?

I accidentally followed the running path (or not) right into someone’s backyard. It’s nice though, right?

My mom and I got there first so we went to a sports store across the street from the stadiums (stadia?) and got a few souvenirs for ourselves and my brother Michael. Michael has to have the highest number of shirts and hats from different stadiums around North America without actually having been to most of them. He’s been to barely any. We should stop giving this guy presents.

With a pit stop at a bagel place so I could get some breakfast, where Conor briefly worked before accepting a positon as the Pacific Northwest Scout for the Cleveland Indians (!), we got tickets for the night’s game and then ventured out to do some sightseeing.

I found a baseball diamond.

I found a baseball diamond.

Our first two stops were national parks, or something like it. Aly is collecting stamps from all of the national parks and two of the stamp places were downtown Seattle. I can’t really explain that any further because I don’t really understand it – we didn’t go to a park or anything, plus we were in the middle of Seattle – but we stopped twice before heading to Pike Place.

To get there, we used the Uber app, which is an American thing. It is kind of like a cab, except it seems as though anyone can become an Uber driver. They do have to go through some sort of screening process, so that we felt safe enough to know they wouldn’t murder and hide us, but we used the app and a random dude picked up the six of us in his Toyota and drove us to our destination for like eleven dollars or something. It was pretty sweet. Plus, not murdered.

Pike Place, where they throw the fish and stuff. But you have to buy it in order for them to do that.

Pike Place, where they throw the fish and stuff. But you have to buy it in order for them to do that.

Pike Place is the awesome place you’ve seen or heard about with all of the fish-throwing. We only got to see that happen once because apparently turning into a tourist attraction has been bad for business and there is a lot less fish buying-and-throwing now that so many people come to see it.

The Post Alley Gum Wall.

The Post Alley Gum Wall.

After that though, we went to the Post Alley Gum Wall. It is as great as it sounds. I took several pictures, and then also this video of Conor in all his glory. He put TWO packs of Big League Chew in his mouth to have the biggest and best wad of gum on the wall. The video might provide some offensive content, but if you enjoy awesome things that might be somewhat gross, plus listening to my crazy laughter for four minutes, then here it is. Enjoy.

The Glasseys and Rodes know that a trip with me always involves at least one meal at The Cheesecake Factory, so they decided to get that out of the way for lunch on Wednesday. I ordered my usual, the Crusted Chicken Romano with a white sauce, plus ate a ton of the honey oat bread provided for the table at the beginning of the meal, and I was all set. It was as good as always and I loved every minute of it.

Self-explanatory.

Self-explanatory.

They made fun of me for taking pictures of the place and joked with our server about not even giving me a menu – obviously I didn’t need it, but the server was confused – but it was the best. It is definitely my favourite chain restaurant in the world. But, I haven’t been to Japan yet, so we’ll see.

Seattle Monorail.

Seattle Monorail.

From there we took the Seattle Monorail (when I hear this, I sing the words in my head…or out loud) to the Space Needle, which is pretty cool but felt like the CN Tower’s little brother. It is about a third of the height of the CN Tower, but the Toronto structure is newer, so I guess it’s not a younger brother. Whatever. It’s still smaller and size matters.

Seattle's Space Needle, just over 600 feet high, to the CN Tower's 1500 feet in the air. Take that, Seattle.

Seattle’s Space Needle, just over 600 feet high, to the CN Tower’s 1500 feet in the air. Take that, Seattle.

But the view was unreal. We got to see every angle of Seattle and I took a lot of pictures, of course. It was pretty cool. We didn’t spend a lot of time up at the top, but it was worth going up there and having a look. I enjoyed it.

Seattle, from the Space Needle.

Seattle, from the Space Needle.

The six of us separated before the game because my mom and I were going to meet Amanda and her friend Kevin, who were making the drive from Vancouver just for the game that night. Amanda wanted to see the Blue Jays in Seattle, of course, as we all did.

The amazing view from the top.

The amazing view from the top.

During the day, however, we weren’t sure if they were going to make it. As it turns out, Amanda’s passport had expired in July. We found out right after buying the tickets for the night and she decided she was still going to try to cross the border anyway. She called our other friend who works for border services in Ontario and she told Amanda just to bring her birth certificate with her and that it shouldn’t be a big deal.

From the Space Needle on another side.

From the Space Needle on another side.

Thank goodness it wasn’t. Amanda and Kevin made it before the game and we all met up to head in together and tour around the stadium a little bit before the Blue Jays got swept by the Mariners. We took a lot of pictures around the stadium and from our seats, and waited for the game to start and the rest of our party to arrive.

Amanda is a vegetarian so we had to find a veggie dog for her at the game. Apparently the gluten-free and vegetarian stuff at Safeco Field is hidden away in a back corner. We found it, but not without some difficulty.

Me and Amanda, our first international game together.

Me and Amanda, our first international game together.

From our section, the game provided a lot of entertainment. A Canadian Blue Jays fan and an American Mariners fan were jawing at each other for a few innings before taking it to the next level and actually getting out of their seats. Nothing happened because the police came – probably wouldn’t have anyway – but it provided entertainment. I also managed to get into a few strangers’ photos after making my goal for the day to photobomb as many people as possible. I think my end-of-the-day tally was probably only about four. I did photobomb a couple on the video board, however, with my Vancouver Canadians Mountie hat. That was awesome.

Our Wednesday night view of the field.

Our Wednesday night view of the field.

At the end of the game, we made an usher take a picture of all of us. It was incredibly nice of him to do so. And then we separated again.

My mom and I went with Amanda and Kevin to try to find a place for them to eat post-game, before heading back to Vancouver. I asked a security guard at the stadium to recommend a place where there might not be a wait to get in, so he directed us.

The whole crew.

The whole crew.

The first place we went to had horrible service, smelled terrible, and we left before we could get anything. The second place was crowded and was standing room only, so it would have been hard to eat food.

There were half price hot dogs, though.

But WHY are they on sale?

But WHY are they on sale?

So we ended up leaving and they took off for Vancouver while we headed back to Woodinville. The drive was much easier than the night before, since we avoided the post-game traffic looking for a place to eat. All in all, a successful trip and a great day in the Emerald City.

 

The pieces you're reading are written by a baseball enthusiast who can completely confirm the notion that if you love what you do, you never work a day in your life. That's me. I never know what day of the week it is, but I always know who's starting tomorrow. There are no limits, but there are plenty of rain delays and extra innings...just embrace them.

Leave a Reply

