Every morning I sleep in, I feel more and more like I am on vacation.

Really, the first part of this trip has been a holiday, but I’ve also been trying to work throughout, constantly writing stories and blog posts, interviewing players and watching games. But I have to reiterate that if you love your job, you never work a day in your life.

A shot of the ballpark in Everett that I accidentally left out previously. Love it.

A shot of the ballpark in Everett that I accidentally left out previously. Love it.

I love everything I do, which is why it is so hard for me when people ask me what I want to eventually do with my life when I (hopefully) weasel my way into a full-time job. The problem is that I have enjoyed every different experience I’ve had, from learning more about minor league baseball and new sides of the game working with Baseball America, to getting a little taste of every front office position on a small scale during my time in the Australian Baseball League with the Brisbane Bandits, to working with the production crew of the Toronto Blue Jays in statistics and scoring management, and especially to writing about Canadian baseball at absolutely every level.

Another picture I forgot to post from the AquaSox game, but fitting because Nathan Rode and Conor Glassey are part of the many  reasons I enjoyed my experience at Baseball America so much.

Another picture I forgot to post from the AquaSox game, but fitting because Nathan Rode and Conor Glassey are part of the many reasons I enjoyed my experience at Baseball America so much.

Baseball operations, Minor League Baseball, and the amateur side of the sport really interest me the most, but I think one of the best things I do is write about Canadians. So it’s not easy for me to just pick one thing and say that I can do that for the rest of my life. All I know for sure is that I want to stay in the game. I’ll be happy if I can do that, though it would be more awesome if I could do that and also live off of the wages and have benefits and things of that nature. But I will continue to work toward that.

Until then, no visits to the dentist.

Another sweet running path. I finally listened and was able to follow directions on where to go. It was worth it.

Another sweet running path. I finally listened and was able to follow directions on where to go. It was worth it.

So back to sleeping in, because I got to do that on Sunday. I woke up to a beautiful day in Vancouver and got it started right with some Starbucks. I’m not a coffee drinker, but I have food and drink staples at the fantastic and expensive coffee shop. My favourite drink is a grande chocolate smoothie, with extra ice and non-fat milk, in a venti cup because of all that ice. And when I get on a good workout kick – as I occasionally do but wish I did more – I add extra protein to the drink as well. My go-to food is the chicken Santa Fe sandwich, also packed with protein, and a delicious option. I purchased both of those items and ate them before I even got back.

The view from my last run in Vancouver.

The view from my last run in Vancouver.

We stayed once again with my mom’s cousin Tam Stewart, which was awesome. She and her family took my mom to Whistler for the day while I forced myself to stay home and work, and Tam also updated me on where to run around her place. So when they left I went for a run right away, and it was beautiful.

I ran right on the water and took a ton of pictures of the beautiful and gigantic houses along my way. At one point, I found a path and took it, though in retrospect, I really think I was probably trespassing. The rich people were riding their horses around the path, which I thought was really cool, but when I would smile or wave – like I usually do as I see other people on my runs – I got nothing in return. I guess rich people don’t smile back. I am learning.

Oh you know, I just live on the water in Vancouver in this giant mansion. Also, if I know anyone who knows the owner of this house, hook me up.

Oh you know, I just live on the water in Vancouver in this giant mansion. Also, if I know anyone who knows the owner of this house, hook me up.

When I got back to the house I tried to use the key on the front door, as most people would, and found myself unsuccessful. I tried turning the key to the left, to the right, more to the right, more to the left, and I just could not make it happen. I knew it was the right key because it fit in the lock, and I was pretty sure my mom had used it before, so I thought I would try it in the back door. I went around to the rear entrance of the house and tried to open the screen door to get to the lock and that was latched too, so I couldn’t go any further. I tried the windows to see if anything was open, and nothing was. So I gave up and went back to the front of the house. I don’t know what was wrong with me the first time, but I kept trying for a few minutes and eventually got in. It seemed simple when it finally happened, really.

Oh, just a few more giant houses. The stables are around back

Oh, just a few more giant houses. The stables are around back.

I showered and quickly got ready to head to the beach. I was meeting up with my local friends Allyson, Ryan and Amanda, plus another guy I’d never met before, Cam, for dinner and Shakespeare in the Park Sunday night, at something called Bard on the Beach. We were headed to see A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and my mom was going to meet us after her trip to Whistler but because of traffic she couldn’t make dinner.

Apparently most places to eat in Vancouver don’t take reservations on the weekends so there was some question of whether or not the five of us would be able to get a table. The restaurant of choice for the evening was Local Public Eatery, and I ended up getting there first. After being stopped randomly outside of the place to be offered a bottle of water – I asked the guy why he was giving them out and he said it was some sort of promotion, so I just trusted that and took it – I asked the hostess for a table and much to my surprise, I got one right away. I also drank the whole free bottle of water. I’m still fine.

From left to right, a very pregnant Allyson, me and Amanda, just a beauty night out in Vancouver.

From left to right, a very pregnant Allyson, me and Amanda, just a beauty night out in Vancouver.

Then I was just sitting in the place on my own, a little bit afraid that they would ask for the table back if my friends didn’t show up soon. They ran a little late because of driving and parking issues, but eventually we were all together to eat. I was really hungry so I ordered chips and guacamole as an appetizer and a crispy chicken sandwich with sweet potato fries for dinner. The server made the guacamole fresh at the table and it was amazing. If I had known, I would have just order four portions of that as my entire meal. Kudos to their guacamole ingredients. I had a minor issue with my sandwich, which was supposed to come with barbecue sauce and instead came with mayonnaise and mustard – two things I do not like – but the server brought me a new bun and we were all good.

On our way to Bard on the Beach, we stopped to take in the beauty of Vancouver.

On our way to Bard on the Beach, we stopped to take in the beauty of Vancouver.

From there we went down to the setup for Bard on the Beach and my mom was still running late so I left her ticket at will call. The rest of us went in and Amanda and I walked around to get some pictures of the stage before the play began.

A Midsummer Night’s Dream was great. I have to say, I didn’t have high expectations but I thoroughly enjoyed it. The actors nailed the Shakespearean qualities necessary for the production and they added a few modern twists and some extra humour into the mix. It was enjoyable and I would recommend it.

Bard on the Beach, ready for A Midsummer Night's Dream.

Bard on the Beach, ready for A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

Taking the award for the most surprising happening of the day was the fact that there was a guy directing traffic at the portable restrooms during halftime – the actor who introduced the play called it halftime, not me – and he did a phenomenal job. Seriously, he was like a traffic cop in the middle of the street, but sending people to various toilets. I found it amusing. Maybe you had to be there.

A map we found at halftime, noting where people have come from to Bard on the Beach.

A map we found at halftime, noting where people have come from to Bard on the Beach.

Amanda and I made plans to head out on the town a little bit in Vancouver when the play was done. It’s not something we have had the chance to do very often, at home in London or anywhere. After Amanda, Mama B and I found the car back from where I parked it before dinner, my mom dropped us off at a destination of our choosing. We went to a bar called Warehouse, or maybe it was The Warehouse, and we had a great time. It was nice to catch up, share stories, laugh a lot, and reminisce. I don’t know why but it seems as though this is a stage in our lives where we don’t get to do that very often.

Eventually we left and went to another place, maybe called Roxy or something similar, and that was fun too. A random guy outside bought us roses from a street vendor so we spent some of our time choosing how to give them out inside the bar. I gave mine to a guy wearing a Vancouver Canadians hat, because obviously.

My poutine, before and after.

My poutine, before and after.

Before we went home for the night we stopped at Smoke’s Poutinerie. I don’t remember what my specific kind of poutine was called but it was way too much and I ate almost all of it. It was delicious. I also took pictures of it before I ate it, and after I mangled it.

Amanda had a vegetarian poutine of course, so I took a picture of that one too. You’re welcome. I’m sure you have always been wondering what French fries with peas on them looked like. There it is.

Amanda's vegetarian poutine.

Amanda’s vegetarian poutine.

A belligerent young man came into the restaurant while we were still eating and he was so intoxicated that I felt obligated to buy him a water. I did and he had a small sip before returning to being kind of a jerk. His state made me feel better about my own, but that was pretty much the only good thing about him being there. He was a little bit annoying and took away from the wonderful late-night atmosphere provided by Smoke’s.

After downing too much poutine, we took a cab home and pretty quickly went to sleep. It was a great visit with Amanda before I head off to Japan and she and her boyfriend take a long trip across several states and the countryside on their way back home to London together.

Let those journeys begin.

The pieces you're reading are written by a baseball enthusiast who can completely confirm the notion that if you love what you do, you never work a day in your life. That's me. I never know what day of the week it is, but I always know who's starting tomorrow. There are no limits, but there are plenty of rain delays and extra innings...just embrace them.

Leave a Reply

